Joomla Slide Menu by DART Creations

Sign up for the ArtsBeat Newsletter
Department for Culture & Creative Development (DCCD)

The Department for Culture & Creative Development is the local arts agency for the City of San Antonio funded by the Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT) and supported in part by the Texas Commission on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.

DCCD's mission is to provide leadership and support for arts organizations and individual artists, improving the quality of life for San Antonio Citizens and visitors alike.

Our vision is to be the recognized public agency leading the San Antonio creative environment.

The Department for Culture & Creative Development (DCCD) supports arts and culture in the community through programs tailored to help arts and cultural organizations, individual artists, community groups and the tourism industry.

DCCD has five main divisions:Funding & Contract Administration, Strategic Initiatives, Cultural Facilities, Public Art San Antonio (PASA) and the Film Commission.

Helping to make San Antonio an exciting place to live and visit, DCCD promotes participation in arts and cultural activities by developing and marketing a wide range of activities and events. Through these and other research and planning programs, DCCD advocates for the growth and recognition of San Antonio’s creative industry.


DCCD's policies and procedures are advised by the Cultural Arts Board (CAB), whose members are appointed by City Council and the Mayor.

Cultural Arts Board members are appointed by City Council to represent each district. One additional member is appointed by the Mayor. The Cultural Arts Board determines funding policy and reviews grants recommendations before they are sent to City Council for approval. The Cultural Arts Board has four standing committees and meets the first Monday of every month in open session.


Henry Brun (Chair)
Ernest Gonzales
Nettie Hinton
Ernesto Olivo
Karen Mahaffy
Valeria Hernandez
Richard "Larry" Lapaglia
Debra Nicholas
Tracey Curran-Herman (Vice Chair)
Mark Rogers
Antonio Harris, III (Mayor's Appointee)

Cultural Arts Board 2013 Regular Meeting Schedule

All Regular Board meetings begin at 5:45 p.m. and take place at the Municipal Plaza Building, Plaza Room B located at 114 W. Commerce Street (unless posted differently). For meetings agendas please visit, listed at the "Arts and Cultural Advisory Committee". For additional information, please contact Rafe Saenz, Board Liaison, at (210) 207-6968.


The Public Art Board, created on January 15, 2009, is comprised of seven (7) members nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. The make-up of the board consists of: three (3) visual arts representatives (artist, professional, and patron); one (1) architect, landscape architect, or design professional; one (1) visual arts professor from a local college or university; one (1) local art and architecture historian or conservationist; and one (1) community and/or neighborhood representative. Members serve staggered three-year terms. The Public Art Board has the primary responsibility and authority for developing and enhancing public art in San Antonio. Working with Public Art San Antonio, the Board will provide public art education for the community, promote public art, assist sponsors of public art by developing and proposing skilled local artists, review and approve applications to place art in public spaces, and advise the City Council about public art. Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of every month at 9:00 AM at 400 North Saint Mary’s Street, Suite 101. For questions, please call 210-207-5951.


Alice Carrington Foultz (Chair)
Guillermo C. Nicolas (Vice Chair)
Patty Ortiz 
Eduardo Garcia (officer)
Kent Rush
Rene Barilleaux
Jessica Sanchez